Jennifer Axelband, DO completed her residency in emergency medicine in 2005 and subsequently completed a fellowship in critical care.  Since then, she has been practicing as both an EM physician and an intensivist.  Dr. Axelband credits ACOEP as being an integral part of her growth and achievements as an osteopathic physician and is ready to “pay it forward.”

As a new graduate of emergency medicine and critical care, Dr. Axelband sought guidance in a few board members on how to pursue recognition of osteopathic EM physicians as intensive care physicians.   Because of the support the ACOEP Board provided, new EM/CC graduates are becoming certified and hired for positions in both disciplines. She has had the opportunity to become involved with committees and speak at conferences for ACOEP, is a strong supporter of education, and values her role as a clinical physician educator for medical students,  residents, and now fellows.

Dr. Axelband hopes to become involved in the leadership of ACOEP to learn more about the processes and decision making that paves the path to the future, to provide direction and support to both new and seasoned EM physicians, and to be a part of a Board that looks to maintain ACOEP’s mission while embracing changes that will improve our osteopathic community.

Tim Cheslock, DO, FACOEP is a graduate of the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine and the Saint Vincent Health System Emergency Medicine Residency. He has been very active with ACOEP for 15 years, serving as a Board member, committee chair, and Past President of ACOEP’s Resident Chapter. As the chair of the Publications Committee, a member of the EMS Committee, and consultant with the CME committee, Dr. Cheslock has his finger on the pulse of ACOEP. He also serves as a member of the AOA’s Committee on Continuing Medical Education. In addition to his current involvement in the ACOEP, he is a graduate of the Physician Leadership Development Course in conjunction with Florida Hospital in Orlando.

He has served on the board of a non-profit association in the past as the treasurer and a board member at large for the Spaatz Association, made up of current and former Civil Air Patrol Members that achieved the Cadet Programs highest achievement, the General Carl A. Spaatz Award. During his tenure Dr. Cheslock maintained the books for the organization and filed the annual tax reports. The primary mission was to foster comradery and provide scholarships and mentoring to current CAP cadets. The size of the organization was small in comparison to ACOEP, but the experience gained was invaluable.

Dr. Cheslock currently works for Florida Emergency Physicians of Team Health. He is chairman of the Department of Emergency Medicine, Assistant Facility Medical Director and an attending physician at Florida Hospital Waterman in Tavares, Florida. He has been a member of the Army National Guard for 20 years, serving a tour in Afghanistan.  He completed the Army Command and General Staff College and continues to serve as a Lieutenant Colonel in a medical support battalion for the Florida Army National Guard.

Megan McGrew Koenig, DO, MBA, FACOEP has been involved with the ACOEP since 2006. She has held a variety of leadership positions consistently throughout this time frame, including serving on both the Student and Resident Chapter Boards, to most recently being a member of the CME Committee and serving as the New Physicians in Practice Committee Chair. Involvement in this College has always been a priority to Dr. Koenig; from a networking and mentorship perspective to advocacy and national representation.

Dr. Koenig has sat on the Board previously as the Student and Resident Chapter Presidents (2008-2009, 2012-2013). She looks forward to the opportunity to be a part of the Board again during such a pivotal time as we transition towards the single accreditation system, as she feels “new physician” representation would be a great asset to the current team.   Her passions within the college lie in mentorship towards the younger members, as well as improving the quality of conference programming.