ACOEP Executive Director Janice Wachtler with ACOEP Past President Mark Mitchell at the 2019 Scientific Assembly

January marks the end of an era for the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP) as longtime Executive Director Janice Wachtler, BAE officially enters retirement.

“For decades Jan’s name has been synonymous with ACOEP,” said ACOEP President Robert Suter, DO, MHA, FACOEP-D. “It’s safe to say we would not be where we are without her stewardship, and ACOEP will not be the same without her in the driver’s seat.”

Jan’s tenure at ACOEP began in 1992 as the sole staff member. Throughout her time with the College, ACOEP experienced exponential growth in membership numbers, educational opportunities, career advancement, and much more. Jan leaves ACOEP as the second-largest specialty college and a leading voice for emergency physicians across the country.

Members had the opportunity to honor Jan’s work at special events during ACOEP’s 2019 Scientific Assembly in Austin, Texas. Her legacy and passion for education continues through the Janice Wachtler Educator of the Year Award, presented this year to Judith Tintinalli, MD.

Jan’s transition began this summer as day-to-day operations shifted to Interim Executive Director Adam Levy, who previously served as Director of Events and Strategic Initiatives.

“Change is always difficult and we are profoundly thankful for Adam’s dedication in navigating this one,” said Dr. Suter. “He has done a tremendous job balancing increased responsibilities, implementing new procedures and policies, and keeping ACOEP moving forward. We owe Adam a great debt of gratitude.”

The ACOEP Board has established a search committee to conduct interviews to officially name Jan’s replacement. A job description has been made public, and the application period will remain open until January 2nd. Interviews will be conducted in Chicago and the committee plans to name a permanent replacement in February.